AbbotsfordFIRST elects Markus Delves as president



For Immediate Release

October 12, 2017 (Abbotsford, BC) - The AbbotsfordFIRST Electors Society held its annual general meeting on October 10th and has announced its new executive team.

Markus Delves has been elected president of AbbotsfordFIRST. Delves is a local Abbotsford chartered accountant who works at Quantum Properties, a real estate developer. He also serves as a director of the Fraser Health Authority and the Abbotsford Hospice Society. Delves replaces Marty Snider, past president of AbbotsfordFIRST.

"I wish to thank Marty for his vision in helping grow AbbotsfordFIRST and his dedication to the party over the years. Marty is a community leader and we are grateful to have him continue to serve AbbotsfordFIRST as a director.” said Delves.

Bob Blue was elected treasurer and Kathleen Robinson was elected secretary. Ann Penner will continue to serve as vice president.

AbbotsfordFIRST councillors Sandy Blue, Kelly Chahal, Brenda Falk and Ross Siemens were in attendance.

Councillor Blue provided an update to the membership. “We are proud of what AbbotsfordFIRST has accomplished in the past three years and we continue to work on building our community to be a preferred location for families and businesses alike. We are focused on continuing to create positive change to make Abbotsford the best that it can be.” said Councillor Blue.

"Our strength as a party lies in our diversity of experience", said Councillor Siemens. "Our Councillors represent many aspects of life in Abbotsford, from Sandy's career in economic development, to Kelly's work as a social justice advocate, Brenda's history of working in agribusiness and myself as a member of the small business community in historic downtown Abbotsford."

The AbbotsfordFIRST board consists of Markus Delves, Ann Penner, Bob Blue, Kathleen Robinson, Marty Snider, Jason Born, Nicole Dixon, Eric Nyval, Kelly Railton, Lisa Schalagentweit and Dave Sidhu as well as Councillors Sandy Blue, Kelly Chahal, Brenda Falk and Ross Siemens.